Town Hall Theatre Galway Logo
Music for Galway

Midwinter Festival: Beethoven Quartets and Septet

Town Hall Theatre

This show is now over. Please see our full listing for other shows you might enjoy.

ConTempo Quartet in partnership with the Galway Music Residency

Alina Ibragimova violin | Cédric Tiberghien piano Aisling Casey oboe | John Finucane clarinet | Amy Harman bassoon | Hervé Joulain horn | Dominic Dudley double bass | Richard Wigmore musicologist

Celebrating the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth, Music for Galway’s Midwinter Festival continues its longstanding tradition of presenting a three-day weekend of themed concerts with musicians from Galway, Ireland and beyond. We will focus primarily on Beethoven’s early solo piano and chamber music compositions, featuring violin sonatas, string quartets, the Quintet for piano and winds and the ever-popular Septet.

This year we are delighted to be joined by the internationally-celebrated duo team of Russian violinist Alina Ibragimova and French pianist Cédric Tiberghien. Their Sunday recital will culminate in a performance of Beethoven’s Kreutzer Sonata, straying into the master’s glorious middle period.

Tiberghien, no stranger to Galway audiences, takes centre-stage on Saturday night with an eclectic programme of variations for solo piano, while Galway’s own ConTempo Quartet will open proceedings on Friday night, joined by a stellar cast of colleagues from near and far.

ConTempo Quartet and friends
String Quartet Op. 18 no. 5 (1798-1800)
String Quartet Op. 18 no. 6 (1798-1800)
Septet Op. 20 (1799-1800)