Town Hall Theatre Galway Logo

The Town Hall Theatre Box Office will be closed on Monday 20th and Tuesday the 21st January to facilitate essential building maintenance works.
We will reopen for business 10am Wed 22 January.

Music for Galway

Beethoven x 5

Town Hall Theatre

A further celebration of Beethoven’s 250 years, this will be a feast for the senses. Five cellists from different corners of Europe join artistic director of Cellissimo Finghin Collins for a marathon performance of the master’s five sonatas, spanning his entire career.

Richard Wigmore provides insights on the composer, the context and the music.

There will be two intervals.

Adrian Brendel | Christopher Ellis | Laura van der Heijden | Christopher Marwood | Tatjana Vassiljeva, cellos | Finghin Collins, piano | Richard Wigmore, musicologist

BEETHOVEN The Five Sonatas for Cello and Piano
Sonata No. 1 in F major Op. 5 no. 1
Sonata No. 2 in G minor Op. 5 no. 2
Sonata No. 3 in A major Op. 69
Sonata No. 4 in C major Op. 102 no. 1
Sonata No. 5 in D major Op. 102 no. 2

€25 / €22.50
Friends of MFG €21
Unwaged/Students €12.50


© Town Hall Theatre Galway 2008 - 2019 · Website by James Larkin