Town Hall Theatre Galway Logo

Following the Government directive, the Town Hall Theatre Box Office is closed until Easter Sunday 12 April. Refunds for cancelled shows and transfers to rescheduled events will recommence after that date. Any urgent queries should be emailed to Stay safe and look out for family and friends.

This show is now over. Please see our full listing for other shows you might enjoy.

Please Note the Venue for The Cherry Orchard is The Black Box

Druid presents
Anton Chekhov’s

The Cherry Orchard

In a version by Tom Murphy

Directed by Garry Hynes

Times are changing.
An old way of life is dying out.
A family faces extinction.
A country prepares for revolution.
And the cherry orchard? What will become of it?

Bringing together one of the world’s great classic plays with one of Ireland’s greatest writers, Druid presents Tom Murphy’s version of Chekhov’s masterpiece.

Directed by Garry Hynes, with the acclaimed creative team behind DruidShakespeare, this production will feature a large company of actors, starring Derbhle Crotty alongside Rachel Feeney and other leading members of the Druid Ensemble. Druid’s production of The Cherry Orchard, a play about land, legacy, and the struggle between tradition and change, will be the first major production of Tom Murphy’s work since his death in 2018.

Derbhle Crotty
Ian-Lloyd Anderson
Síobhan Cullen
Megan Cusack
Peter Daly
Rachel Feeney
Garrett Lombard
Aaron Monaghan
Rory Nolan
Helen Norton
John Olohan
Marty Rea

Director Garry Hynes
Set & Costume Designer Francis O’Connor
Costume Co-Designer Doreen McKenna
Lighting Designer James F. Ingalls
Sound Designer Gregory Clarke
Movement David Bolger
Music Conor Linehan
Assistant Costume Designer Clíodhna Hallissey

To book for the
 - Recorded for Broadcast performance (Weds 4th March 8pm)
 - Live Broadcast performance (Thursday 5th March 7pm)
please contact the box office directly in person or over the phone – 091-569777 or in person.

Box office hours are Monday-Saturday, 10am - 7.30pm.

© Town Hall Theatre Galway 2008 - 2019 · Website by James Larkin