Town Hall Theatre Galway Logo

Following the Government announcement on 23 February, the Town Hall and Black Box Theatres remain closed to the public. Read our full COVID update

Music for Galway & Galway 2020 present

The Way of Sorrow

St. Nicholas Church

Pärt’s setting of the St. John Passion is perhaps one of the best-known choral works of the late twentieth-century. The gospel narrative speaks with direct intimacy, through a small piquantly-voiced instrumental and vocal ensemble and rigorous patterning of simple ideas. Despite the economical means, the work has a breathtaking nobility equal to its subject matter, and offers us a chance to follow the via dolorosa in a new and powerfully immediate way.

The lineup of performers includes Galway’s most wellknown players alongside some of the brightest young Irish singers emerging on the European scene.

Brian McAlea bass (Christus) | Ciarán Kelly Pilatus Aisling Kenny soprano (evangelist) | Laura Lamph alto (evangelist) | Chris Lombard tenor (evangelist) Malachy Frame bass (evangelist) | Bogdan Sofei violin | Adrian Mantu cello | Matthew Manning oboe | Mariana Paras bassoon | Ronan De Burca organ | Collegium | Mark Duley director

€20 / €18
Friends of MFG €16
Unwaged €10