Town Hall Theatre Galway Logo
Irish Chamber Orchestra

Guitar Man

Town Hall Theatre

Vivaldi: Concerto in A minor for Two Violins, Strings, and Continuo, Op. 3, No. 8, RV 522
Dave Fennessy Rosewood
Dvořák Two Waltzes Op.54, No.1 & 4
Vivaldi Guitar Concerto in D Major RV 93
Malcolm Arnold Serenade for Guitar and Strings Op. 50
Elgar Introduction & Allegro

Written as part of his Opus 3 L’Estro Armonico, the popular Double Concerto in A minor is one of Vivaldi’s exciting and sunniest of works. Dave Fennessy’s sensory Rosewood brims with nostalgia reminding the composer of his bond with his guitar. Dvořák’s Two Waltzes 1&4 are original, wistful, and boisterous from his set of 8 Waltzes. The amazing guitarist Sean Shibe performs Vivaldi’s popular Concerto in D major transcribed for guitar followed by Malcolm Arnold’s incredibly beautiful Serenade for Guitar and Strings. Here the guitar plays over muted strings, alternating the dreamy theme with more energetic passages. Finally, Elgar’s masterpiece Introduction and Allegro is exhilarating, reminiscent of a multi-layered symphonic poem for string orchestra, with multiple themes as showcased by ICO.

Students €10