Town Hall Theatre Galway Logo

Jun 03 2016

Step into history to help recreate historic photo of 1913 Oireachtas

The City’s Town Hall Theatre is putting out a call for members of the public to become part of history by participating in the re-enactment of a famous photograph taken on the steps of the theatre during the Gaelic League Oireachtas of 1913.

The re-enactment will take place at Town Hall Theatre on Saturday, June 18. and is part of this year’s Galway Sessions which commemorates 1916 leader and piper Éamonn Ceannt. Anyone interested in participating should contact Siobhan at Galway Arts Centre

This photograph features some of the men and women who went on to participate in the Rising and become the leaders of the new Irish state. Included in the picture are three future presidents of Ireland – Douglas Hyde, Seán T Ó Ceallaigh and Éamon de Valera. Also present were signatories of the 1916 Proclamation, Pádraig Pearse, Seán Mac Diarmada and Éamonn Ceannt, as well as other noted figures such as Cathal Brugha and Countess Markievicz


Read the full article on the Connacht Tribune website.

© Town Hall Theatre Galway 2008 - 2018 · Website by James Larkin