Town Hall Theatre Galway Logo

Jun 20 2016

Successful Oireachtas 1913 Re-enactment

Oireachtas 1913 re-enactment in 2016

On Saturday, 18 June more than 150 people participated in the re-enactment of a famous photograph taken on the steps of the Town Hall Theatre, during the Gaelic League Oireachtas of 1913. The reenactment was one of the highlights of Galway City Council's 1916 Centenary Programme.

One of the most remarkable features of the Galway Oireachtas and Ard Fheis was the presence among the delegates of so many of the political and military elite of the subsequent Irish Revolution 1916-1923, and indeed that of the independent Irish state to which it gave birth.  The historic group photograph is tantamount to a Who’s who of the ‘coming revolution’ with half the signatories of the 1916 proclamation (Pádraig Pearse, Seán Mac Diarmada and Éamonn Ceannt) as well three future Presidents of Ireland (Douglas Hyde, Seán T. O’Kelly and Eamon de Valera) being present.

The reenactment on Saturday included members of the public along with relatives and representatives of many of the key personalities present in the original photograph.

The reenactment photograph was taken after the participants had paraded through the streets of Galway led by Galway's St Patricks Brass Band and followed by the Ullapool Pipe Band from Scotland.

The original photograph is on permanent display at the Town Hall Theatre.

© Town Hall Theatre Galway 2008 - 2018 · Website by James Larkin